search contact ipacc login  
Who is Indigenous?
The Latest News from
the indigenous world
News Archives
Central Africa
East Africa
North Africa
Sahel Horn of Africa
Southern Africa
West Africa

IPACC announces its newly elected Executive Committee

9 Sep 2012   

Cape Town, South Africa


The Indigenous Peoples of Africa Coordinating Committee (IPACC) has completed its 7th democratic elections for the 18 members of the Executive Committee. IPACC is one of the largest indigenous peoples' networks in the world, with 138 valid member organisations in 23 countries. 

Due to the size of the network, the last three elections have been done electronically. Each of the six sub-regions of the continent have the opportunity to vote for three people from that sub-region to represent them for three years on the Executive Committee. The three posts are Regional Representative, Deputy Representative and Women's Representative. The elections have two stages, a nomination process. If there are more than three candidates after the nominations, then the members are called on to vote for the candidates. In this election, 5 regions had to go through elections, and one sub-region was able to acclaim its candidates.

The outgoing Executive Committee which met in Bujumbura in June 2012, and agreed to the requesst of members from the Congo Basin to separate the Central Africa region into two sub-regions, the Congo Basin and the Great Lakes. This will improve representation for this region which is one of the fastest growing for IPACC. On this website you will still see the Congo Basin listed as 'Sahel Horn' a subregion which used to have coopted representation. 

The elected members are:

Dr Mohammed HANDAINE, Amazigh, Morocco, North Africa

Mr Lahoucine AMOUZAY, Amazigh, Morocco, North Africa;

Mme Zahia BACHIR, Amazigh, Algeria, North Africa;

Mme Sada ALBACHIR, Tuareg, Niger, West Africa;

M. Mohammed EWANGAYE, Tuareg, Niger, West Africa;

Mme Zahra MOHAMMED-ATTAYOUB, Tuareg, Niger, West Africa;

Mme Hindou OUMAROU IBRAHIM, M'Bororo, Chad, Congo Basin;

M. Jean NGANGA, Babi, Congo Republic, Congo Basin;

Mme ALI Aiishatou, M'Bororo, Congo Republic, Congo Basin;

M. Vital BAMBANZE, Batwa, Burundi, Great Lakes;

M. Joseph Itongwa, Bambuti, DR Congo, Great Lakes;

Mme Marthe MUHAWENIMANA, Rwanda, Great Lakes;

Mr Edward POROKWA, Maasai, Tanzania, East Africa;

Mr Simon PARKESUI, Ogiek, Kenya, East Africa;

Mrs Agnes LEINA, SAMBURU, Kenya, East Africa;

Mr David SINGONHI, Khwe, Namibia, Southern Africa

Mr Thaddeus CHEDAU, Khwe, Namibia, Southern Africa

Ms Ossia MANGUMBA, !Xun, South Africa, Southern Africa


The results were monitored and confirmed by an Independent Electoral Observer. 




comments powered by Disqus


Breaking News
- 25 Mar 2014 -
Major breakthrough for indigenous peoples rights in Kenya
Kenya: Landmark decision recognises Ogiek community as indigenous right-holders   In a landmark decision, the court of Kenya identifies the Ogiek community of Mau forest as both indigenous and ...
- 24 Mar 2014 -
Indigenous leaders and national Presidents meet in Congo - support UN World Conference
We, the Indigenous People of the ECCAS region, participants of the International Forum of Indigenous People of Central Africa which was organised in Impfondo, Republic of Congo from 3 to 7 March 2014 ...
Upcoming Events
- 28 Apr 2014 -
28 April - 12 May 2014 55th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (ACHPR) is a quasi-judicial body tasked with promoting and protecting human rights and collective (peoples') rights throughout the African continent ...
- 12 May 2014 -
13th Session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues 12-23 May 2014
Thirteenth Session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

12-23 May 2014
United Nations Headquarters, New York
Special Theme: “Principles of good governance consisten ...
IPACC Publications
Click here to find IPACC's latest publications
    Content of this website is copyright IPACC 2010,   Terms and Conditions of Use
Powered by StudentWorx